Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
« All Events

The New Yorkers | Eiko Kano, violinist & Karen Hakobyan, pianist

May 18
7:30 pm
- 10:30 pm

Cost: $40 to $75

Music of Stravinsky, Brahms, Gershwin, and Prokofiev

“Music is the art which is most nigh to tears and memory.” Oscar Wilde

The Soirees By Moonlight series is continuing its performances this winter and spring at the Greenwich Arts Council, where we are very pleased to present the piano-violin duo, The New Yorkers.

We serve wine at 7:30, and the music will commence at 8 p.m.

There will be a 15 minute Q and A directly following the concert with Ms. Kano and Mr. Hakobyan.

Listen:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7PXUOgDjtwc

Enjoy the beauty of great music in this intimate salon setting.

The New Yorkers are

Eiko Kano, violinist
Karen Hakobyan, pianist/composer/conductor

“The kinetic violinist’s exterior belies a fiery musician, and the vibrant pianist’s performance belies a serious interior: THE NEW YORKERS are the perfect foils for one another, and play in perfect balance.” -The Drozdoff Society

This very exciting new duo will perform works from many parts of the musical spectrum. Recently returned from a highly successful tour of Japan, they are also part of the Pegasus at Mana residency (Maestro Hakobyan is the founder, artistic director, and principal conductor of Pegasus: The Orchestra; Ms. Kano is its Lead Principal violinist.)


I. STRAVINSKY (1882-1971)
Suite Italienne for Violin and Piano (1932)

Gavotta con due variazioni
Minuetto e finale

J. BRAHMS (1862–1918)
Sonata No. 2 for Violin and Piano in A Major, Op. 100 (1886)

1. Allegro amabile

2. Andante tranquillo — Vivace — Andante — Vivace di più — Andante — Vivace

3. Allegretto grazioso (quasi andante) 


G. GERSHWIN (1898–1937)
Selections from Porgy & Bess (1980)
Transcribed by J. Heifetz


A Woman is A Sometime Thing

It Aint Necessarily So

Bess You Is My Woman

S. PROKOFIEV (1891-1953)
Sonata for Violin and Piano in D Major Op. 94a (1943)

I. Moderato

II. Presto – Poco piu mosso del – Tempo I

III. Andante

IV. Allegro con brio – Poco meno mosso – Tempo I – Poco meno mosso – Allegro con brio

This concert is a presentation of Cherny Concert & Artist Management Ltd.


Soirees by Moonlight @ The Greenwich Arts Council
299 Greenwich Avenue
Greenwich, CT 06830 United States

+ Google Map

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *